Starting from Scratch? – Eeek!

Why hello blank page!

After finishing my first manuscript, I was overwhelmed with a sense of completion and pride. I wanted to skip around, boogie, shout from mountaintops, you know, the usual…

Within my initial elation, I decided that every willing victim that I could fine, should read the manuscript to give me some feedback. Thank you all for putting up with this! However, the responses were really positive! I was pleased that I’d been so willing to share the story and have so much friendly feedback. There was some constructive criticism as well, apparently I rush through the chapters too quickly – but then I wanted to create momentum. However, after further reading and advice, I’ve reached the conclusion, yet again – that I’m not done yet.

Noooooo, I thought!  I’ll admit that it took me a few weeks to get my head around re-visiting the manuscript, again. But I’ve now settled on the realisation that the manuscript needs a new beginning, one that sets the scene and the world more clearly.  I’ve started work on this, but it’s frightening to approach a blank page, especially knowing that it’s got to tie back in with a massive weight of work that has gone before.  I feel like I’m writing towards a road block, that once I am able to join a new beginning to the old story, I’ll run out of momentum. However, I am determined to keep going, the entire manuscript needs another, more thorough edit but I feel confident that this time, I know what I’m doing. I have an aim in mind.

Wish me luck!

Fi

Author: Fibi

Aspiring writer!

6 thoughts on “Starting from Scratch? – Eeek!”

  1. Best of luck! Sounds like you know what is needed, and if your aim is clear, I think that’s half the the battle, so I think you’ll be fine. But regardless, best of luck with it!

    1. Thank you! I have this vague plan that I’ll put all the good wishes and use them sparingly as motivation to keep going…

      Thank you again 🙂

  2. Bless you! I’m facing the same issue. The feedback I got on my novel, “Sorcerer’s Vendetta,” when I put it up on Amazon, was wonderful, but the consensus was, “Make it longer!” I’ve taken it from 38,000 words to 41,000 (working on a love scene to blow your socks off!) but I have a long way to go.

    1. Thank you for your encouragement! Well done on expanding! How have you found selling on Amazon? I was concerned about the rights that you sign over?

      1. I don’t think you sign over any rights. I can unpublish any time I want and publish elsewhere. They just give you a huuuuge platform to sell your own work. They take a big cut for anything priced under $2.99 (35% royalty) but over that, it’s 70%. You can’t get anywhere near that through traditional print publishing.
        They do have the KDP Select Program, which is 90 days exclusive, but you can stop anytime or not renew if you’re not happy.

Leave a Reply

