Scottish Thistle

photo

Over the weekend I was fortunate enough to visit the historic Hatfield House. Hatfield house is famous as a home to Elizabeth I. The spot that Elizabeth learnt that she was queen of England, and her Sister Mary wasn’t going to have her executed (as she was deaded) is also located on the grounds. I have to say it was a beautiful day and the grounds are beautiful. If you have a chance to visit, I recommend that you do. The entrance fee to the house is a bit steep at £15.50, but £3 to wander through the extensive grounds and gardens is well worth the money on a sunny Saturday afternoon.

I spent a few hours happily snapping photographs with my phone and have started to edit them, so they’ll start trickling onto this blog over the next few days.

I have to say at this point, that I love scheduling posts! I can go to work tomorrow, guilt free, in the knowledge that my blog is still receiving attention and fresh updates.

Now, the photographs. There were several bunches of thistles, and I took this photo for my dear Mother, the victim of my short story regarding her culinary skills.  My Mum’s family are all Scottish by blood. She was, however, born and raised in England. She’s as English as they come, but she’s not allowed to watch Braveheart. Mother + Braveheart results in several weeks of impromptu lectures about the English and Scottish freedom, neeks n’ tatties (leeks and potatoes) etc etc etc… and so it’s banned from the house. However, this thistle is for you Mum.

I seem to apply the same pixlr filters to all of my floral photographs and I’ll post up the order that I work in shortly. As ever, please leave me a comment and let me know which version you prefer, the edited version, or the raw image.

Fi

Thistle.Raw

Related articles
Author: Fibi

Aspiring writer!

2 thoughts on “Scottish Thistle”

Leave a Reply

