Unexpected

I’ve set myself a challenge to create a series of flash-fiction. Just four pieces of 99 words each and representing the seasons. Here is the second piece, aptly named, number two. I’m really hoping that you can work out which season is which!

Seasonal Flash-Fiction: Two

Spires of bright fuchsia sway. Scattered bursts of buttercup, daisies and dandelions dance on the meadow. Waves of long grass whisper and break on the fence line. The thump and trundle of an antique tractor approaches, rumbling over hard-baked earth. The driver bounces from window to window over the dips and furrows of the ancient field. A blast of Heart FM twists across the boundary. Bare toes wriggle on the fresh-clipped lawn. Wide-eyes fixed on cracked blue paint. Pigtails and tiny fingers stick in fresh varnish. The metallic beast makes a slow spin, grumbling, puffing, ready for the next charge.

I’ve been finding these pieces harder than I expected! For only ninety-nine words they’re taking me far longer than it would take to write 500. When I start writing a new chapter I like to set a scene. With the seasonal flash-fiction I’m trying not to be overly direct and say ‘this is spring!’ etc and the idea of flash-fiction is maybe to do more than just my usual flowery openings that then develop into a story. The flash-fiction is a mini story in itself and I don’t really have the time, or the words, to provide an expansive introduction and explore a character.

So I start with a few opening lines and then as I struggle to piece those together I’m searching for the twist or just the question that the fiction can raise. So far, two down, two to go and I’m satisfied I’ve been able to full-fill my own criteria. I hope that you enjoy them.

The first piece can be found here:

Seasonal Flash-Fiction: One 

If anyone wants to join in the challenge, I’d love to read your pieces. Just 99 words of flash-fiction inspired by a season. Drop me a comment or e-mail me at fibijeeves@gmail.com.

Responding to the Daily Prompt Outlier. I hope that I’ve been able to challenge a few expectations in the fiction and provide something unexpected.

Author: Fibi

Aspiring writer!

13 thoughts on “Unexpected”

      1. I seem to end up with about 300 words or so when that inner voice kicks in, and I often delete things that could bolster longer stories because they seem to detract from the shorter ones. I guess you could call them vignettes. .

      2. What I’ve done with these last two flash-fictions is just about get into the rhythm of the scene, or the idea and then ended up cutting things out (leaving them below) and then writing, cutting, re-arranging. Then spending what feels like an hour agonizing over how to make them 99 words exactly. A vignette might be a better idea!

      3. Interesting process. In reading your words just now I flashed on a fragment of lyric from a Bob Seger song, Against the Wind…”what to leave in, what to leave out.”

      4. Then I always end up re-writing most of the sentences, cutting the originals and making space for new ones! It could go on forever…

    1. Oh very tricky! It becomes a balance of economics – will a sentence or image still make sense with a bit of tweaking and that one word removed? Eeek! Thank you for sharing! Did you decide which word to take out??

      1. Very true. It can be very hard to make a cut though. I find I get attached to certain words of phrases then wrestle with myself to cut them out. Hope the rest of your challenges have gone well!

Leave a Reply

